Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Eric_Dantes
Visitor

A few YouTube videos not playing on private channel

I'm new to the world of Roku channel development. Last month, I created a private channel for a religious non-profit ministry that has posted hundreds of videos on YouTube for all to view free of charge. When I created the channel, I used the YouTube URLs for the content streams. All the videos played (and continue to play) without any problems. But, two weeks ago, I added six more videos to the channel. Only one of those newly added videos plays without any problems. The remaining five videos stop streaming exactly one second after starting; then the following announcement appears on screen: "Sorry, this program is temporarily unavailable." In order to solve the problem, I've taken the following steps: triple checked the URLs, updated the Roku system several times, restarted the Roku system at least three times, substituted different URLs to see if it might be something other than the URLs themselves, compared and contrasted the malfunctioning URLs with each other and with those that are functioning well. All without success. The only differences that I've been able to detect are the letters, numbers, and symbols following the = sign, which makes sense. It appears that there is something about the URLs of those particular videos that is causing them to stop playing. Is anyone familiar with this problem? Does anyone have a possible solution? Thanks!

~ Eric
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
belltown
Roku Guru

Re: A few YouTube videos not playing on private channel

"Eric_Dantes" wrote: