Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TeedOff
Binge Watcher

Re: What has happened to the channel numbers on the streaming channels?

Jump to solution

I'm a newbie to ROKU / Streaming TV.  Only since May / past 5-6 months have I used streaming on ROKU TV.  To be honest, it was already a pain in the arse b/c I couldn't use the remote to type in channel number.. I had to select something from recent list I knew was close to what I wanted and then just scroll from there.

I'm from a generation where we remember sh!t... like channel numbers.  We use our brains to go logically thru life.  Now without channels numbers, I'm forced to think like a d-mn Millenial / Gen Z'er in a random, confused, willy nilly, waste my time kind of method lookiing for something I used to know where it was.

It's not like the number system concept of using specific numerals to organize data / things that has been around for 5-6000 years (Mesopotamia) has all of a sudden become obsolete by the new found genius of you teenie boppers.

In the past week, I've finally taken the time to install over the air TV Antennas at my new place and have found that I've gone from streaming 97% of the time to only streaming maybe 15-20% of time and that's using others apps like Pluto, FreeVee, etc... and not Roku.

PS - and like others, I created this stupid Roku account just to post my frustrations.... i don't use phone apps or sign up for websites... THAT'S HOW STUPID IT IS TO HAVE CHANNEL GUIDE w/o NUMBERS... this 50 yr old geezer has broken his rule of never signing up for anything with some small hope of delaying the world's demise brought on by modern stupidity until at least after I'm dead.