Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DbJaxn
Reel Rookie

VidAngel App... Switching to FireStick or Apple TV

Please bring back VidAngel App.  The reason I have stayed with Roku devices for so long was that fact there were SO MANY apps available. I have been using Roku for nearly 10 years, but it's finally time for me to change.

VidAngel allows me to watch shows with my children without exposing them bad language and sex scenes.  If I can no longer watch movies with my children using a Roku device then why have a Roku device?

Labels (1)
3 REPLIES 3
DBDukes
Community Streaming Expert

Re: VidAngel App... Switching to FireStick or Apple TV

@DbJaxn 

Roku has an app process. The apps must meet coding standards. Netflix has to meet the standards. Hulu has to meet the standards. Disney has to meet the standards.

The VIdAngel did not meet standards. It was never in the Channel Store. VidAngel was one of the developers that abused the app process by building an app that was not up to standard, then putting it out for the public. That was fine, as it was essentially a massive beta repository. But, with so many abuses of that -- developers not coding to standard, but putting apps in the non-certified repository and just leaving them there -- Roku finally cracked down.

All developers were aware of this, and had 120 days to get the app up to standards. And the standard that many did not meet was the Roku Pay standard. Apps for subscription services -- that includes the ones I mentioned earlier -- have to allow (not require, but must allow) the user to subscribe through Roku Pay. The VidAngel app never did that.