Cameras & doorbells

Discover how to use Roku cameras and doorbells in your home. Join the community discussion for installation tips, troubleshooting, resources, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CatCat2
Streaming Star

Recordings stored, some seem to be unable to play..

I have a subscription to Roku for my security cameras, and I have noticed when I click on certain recordings through the app on my phone they won't play.  I just get a still shot.  I have the cameras set up to record on motion or sound. This seems to be intermittent.  Most of the recordings will play back for me, albeit a bit slow, but some, even when it shows there is 20s of recording just don't play.  Not sure what to do about this.  Any suggestions?

12 REPLIES 12
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Re: Recordings stored, some seem to be unable to play..

Hello @CatCat2 

Thanks for posting regarding the issue you are experiencing with video recordings playback.

How far is your Roku Smart Home device cameras from your wireless router? Has this playback issue always been occurring, or did it recently just start?

Please keep us posted and we will be more than happy to continue assisting you. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Thanks,
Danny

Danny R.
Roku Community Moderator
0 Kudos
CatCat2
Streaming Star

We have the outdoor camera on our porch ceiling area which is about 20 ft away from the router approximately.  The other camera's are indoors and run between 20 ft to 10 ft.  We get really good wifi strength on all our other devices that are on wifi only that are equally far away from our router.  

We haven't had the cameras that long, only about a week or so, and we noticed this when we first hooked up the cameras and they started recording.  

0 Kudos
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Hello @CatCat2 

Thanks for the follow up.