Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
laser3kw
Binge Watcher

Another Roku not allowing the use of VPN with "live" content

Jump to solution

Greetings to all

I have been using my Roku Ultra 4800 and my Roku 3 4200 for a few years now - with no ongoing problems - until a couple of months ago.

I did experience occasions when I could not view a few "live" content programs (on the Roku Channel) but switching servers on my ExpressVpn would cure it.

A few months ago, this problem expanded and now I can not watch any "live" content on any channel. I have tried reboots, updates, deleting / reinstalling with no help. If I turn off my VPN - voila' - live content plays. Turn VPN back on - content stops. Exception: on the Roku Channel, selected content, I can shut off VPN to initialize and get content to play and then turn my VPN back on and content continues - until I switch to another program and then I have to shut off my VPN yada, yada, yada.

This only happens with "live" content. I can leave my VPN on and switch from program to program as long as it is not "live". This has to do with something on the Roku IT side as it just started happening recently and it seems others experience it and are frustrated from the lack of attention it is getting.

Please Roku, give this the attention it needs.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuAustin
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Another Roku not allowing the use of VPN with "live" content

Jump to solution

Hi there!

Due to content geolocation restrictions, VPNs may cause some content to have playback issues, or not playback at all. To resolve this, ensure your Roku device is not using the VPN network.

Happy Streaming!
Roku Customer Support

Happy Streaming!