Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
agmark
Visitor

Videoplayer example question

Ok, I've started to look over the videoplayer example in the sdk and I'm confused on the xml files. Since I'm not a programmer (just dabbling in html), I'm curious if the XML files are just manually created and hosted on a server somewhere or are they created dynamically by parsing a webpage which contains the links and descriptions of the video files? When you're grabbing video links from a 3rd party (say a tv channels website), the xml would have to be dynamically created wouldn't it? I appreciate any help in bringing me up to speed on how this is done. Just trying to get my head around how it all works.
TIA
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
destruk
Binge Watcher

Re: Videoplayer example question

Either way will work - I've seen channels that simply load and parse the rss feed itself, and channels that have it hosted on a server, as well as channels which include it in the script or the package, and channels that have it dynamically created. If you can get away with it, having a server dynamically create, mirror content to your CDN, and host the XML somewhere reduces the amount of processing your server needs to do for each request. If you can push off the work to the roku box itself parsing the feed directly from the RSS, then that is optimal - but sometimes that's not desirable as the original feed only carries 10-20 of the 'newest' programs, so you lose a lot.
0 Kudos
agmark
Visitor