Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with SDK and developing a New Channel

I am a first time developer of channels and NOT a programmer. The instructions written for developing a channel appear to be missing something.

Within the Roku "Channel Packaging and Publishing Guide" Version 4.1 12/21/2001 page 8 - instructions on GENKEY. My problem is that I dont know how to access Telnet on a Window machine. Instructions are not clear.

ALSO

Within the Roku "Channel Packaging and Publishing Guide" Version 4.1 12/21/2001 page 9 - instructions: "Open a browser to your box using the IP Address of your device. For example: http://192.168.1.23"

I know what my Roku box IP address is because I have access to my router - but when I do as the instructions require - the browser times out with the following message: "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.100."

I am attempting to tunnel into the box from my laptop that is also wirelessly attached to the network.

Roku box is running version 3.1 - build 1011

This channel development appears to be far more complex than it needs to be OR the instructions are missing large chunks of information. Can someone help?
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
MazeWizzard
Visitor

Re: Trouble with SDK and developing a New Channel

The "Channel Packaging and Publishing Guide" is more-or-less the end of the process, not the start. There is separate documentation for developing the channel. Maybe you should start at the beginning?

Also, since you are new to development and (maybe) Windows/Linux, maybe you could Google "command shell" or "Start->Run->CMD" and then you could Google "Telnet", and then maybe also read the Developer Guide about enabling development mode on the box 1st.