Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
newchannel
Roku Guru

Some Guidance Needed: what's next?

Hi,

I'm a newbie and looking for a little help on building my first channel. So far I have downloaded the SDK and I have copied the videoplayer example and uploaded it using the "Developer Application Installer". I can see the "Ted Talks video player example using category XML feeds" on my TV via my Roku 2XS.

I have been reading the SDK but bewildered as to what is the next step? Do I make the channel jpg graphics and if so, do I store these on a server someplace and reference them in the code or do the graphics go into a image folder and get loaded onto the device?

Or, do I go next to the telnet and then gen key. I read to hold onto the information that I receive when the gen key is done

If someone can give me some guidance on completing this basic channel, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.
LB
http://www.victoryNOWfilmsandtv.com
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
belltown
Roku Guru

Re: Some Guidance Needed: what's next?

The channel graphics can be placed in the Images folder to be packed with the rest of the application. There is no need to store them on an external server unless, for some reason, you want to have images dynamically loaded at runtime. You can even develop a channel without including any images at all and you'll get poster screens that say something like "Retrieving Image", although the channel should still function. You can also include the Roku logo and slice images, etc. from the example apps until you get your own artwork developed.