Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joycewang
Visitor

Scene Graph XML: quit app by home button freeze the device

Hi,

I'm new to Scene Graph XML, there's a problem in my current app, that when I quit app by back / home button, sometimes the device will freeze. I have added some solution to remove page components and unobserve interface field before quit. It helps a little when I quit app by back button, but the home button still makes device freeze.

Someone could me on this? Thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
24 REPLIES 24
joycewang
Visitor

Re: Scene Graph XML: quit app by home button freeze the devi

I'm still facing the same problem. Someone could help me?

It seems to me that the scene graph thread is not closing correctly. As I create a video node inside xml, and when I press home button to quit app, I can still hear the song playing even in Roku home page. What's a good way to release memory for scene graph xml?
0 Kudos
joycewang
Visitor

Re: Scene Graph XML: quit app by home button freeze the device

The problem is solved. I noticed there are many circular references in my app and they make troubles to release memory when app quit. After removing circular references, everything is charming.
0 Kudos
EnTerr
Roku Guru

How strange. It shouldn't matter, the "orphaned objects (objects in a circular ref loop)" message is just a diagnostic, nothing bad with it.
Any particular thread that happens with? Or idea how many circ.refs?
0 Kudos
joetesta
Roku Guru

Our SG app development is running into similar issues - pressing Home does not clear the memory. Often I can hear audio continuing indefinitely while staring at the Roku Home screen or even ater launching another app.
aspiring
0 Kudos
TheEndless
Channel Surfer

"joetesta" wrote: