Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
thenork

Roku simultaneous key button press

I am just a beginner in software development, and will probably not attempt to get access to the NDK, but I have a roku 3 and have been playing around with roScreen and remote button presses. Now the roku 3 remote is a nice piece of equipment, and it seems like because it has a dpad and an a and b button that one could make a game or something in the style of a nintendo game, where you would be pressing the dpad and the a or b buttons at the same time. This would also make sense with the way the roUniversalControlEvent reports button presses with a button down result and a separate button up result. However, when one button is pressed on the remote, it seems no other button can be pressed. Is this right? I even tried holding down a direction on the dpad and then pressing the home button, and that doesn't work. That makes me think that the remote is incapable of detecting multiple key presses, maybe even with the NDK. Is this so? That would be unfortunate. Hopefully I'm just missing something, is there any way to do this with the sdk?
0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3
RokuMarkn
Visitor

Re: Roku simultaneous key button press

The remotes don't currently support simultaneous button presses. See the end of this thread.

--Mark
0 Kudos
EnTerr
Roku Guru

Regarding NDK, from what i have heard you won't get it unless you have venture capital sitting on your board of directors :?