Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
greubel
Visitor

Roku 3

When do we get a new SDK ?
Really need the something for the gaming remote.
0 Kudos
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Visitor

Re: Roku 3

No SDK update just yet, but we do have some things in mind. Except for the buttons, the motion remote integrations requires the NDK, and if you're going to use the buttons, you should use them for additional features, not required features since only Roku2 XS, Roku2, and some Streaming Sticks will have them.
0 Kudos
anthonywebb
Visitor

I am just getting started on creating my first channel... Should I wait for a new SDK as it appears the interface is changing, right?
0 Kudos
Anonymous
Visitor

"anthonywebb" wrote:
I am just getting started on creating my first channel... Should I wait for a new SDK as it appears the interface is changing, right?

Old screentypes will continue to be supported. No need to wait for an indeterminate amount of time.
0 Kudos
EnTerr
Roku Guru

"RokuPatrick" wrote:
Except for the buttons, the motion remote integrations requires the NDK, and if you're going to use the buttons

When are those going to show up in ECP? I remember there was a preliminary documentation on that over a year ago, talking about injecting values for acceleration and such - that would work great with smartphones and is not something prone to abuse.
0 Kudos
Anonymous
Visitor

I know of no current plans to allow for that.
0 Kudos
greubel
Visitor

One thing that is a minor issue with the new interface. When you go into one of your channels and then come back out, the select goes back to the category. It would be more convenient to leave the select where it was, in the user channels.
0 Kudos
kc8pql
Visitor

^Try exiting using the Back button rather than Home.