Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dhir_Pratap
Streaming Star

Populate a LabelList from server data using Scene Graph

I'm trying to do samples with Scene Graph XML. Currently I would like to display content in a LabelList with server data. Can someone point me towards samples on how to achieve this. I'm very new to the platform and the the official documents does not seem to provide a complete example to do this.
Lets say I am using http://www.sdktestinglab.com/homeoptionslistcontent.xml to get the data.
I'm using the snippet given here https://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc/Downloading+Server+Content#DownloadingServerContent-Configur... as a starting point. Please help
0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
RokuJoel
Binge Watcher

Re: Populate a LabelList from server data using Scene Graph

Hi, what is missing or what would you like to see in the example that would be helpful?

- Joel
0 Kudos
Dhir_Pratap
Streaming Star

Hi Joel,

I would like to see the data in homeoptionslistcontent.xml inside a LabelList. I think I'm able to parse the data but the data is not Populating in to the LabelList after parsing.

Following is the code to fetch data

sub getContent()
print "In content"
content = createObject("RoSGNode","ContentNode")
contentxml = createObject("roXMLElement")

readInternet = createObject("roUrlTransfer")
readInternet.setUrl(m.top.uri)
contentxml.parse(readInternet.GetToString())
'contentxml.parse(ReadAsciiFile(m.top.uri))

itemCount = 0
if contentxml.getName()="listcontent"
for each item in contentxml.GetNamedElements("item")
attributes = item.getAttributes()
item = {
text: attributes.text
}
listitem = content.createChild("ContentNode")
listitem.title = item.text

itemCount = itemCount+1
end for
end if
m.top.content = content
print itemCount
end sub