Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
phloide
Visitor

Newbie needing help

I am a programmer, but I am also autistic, and I have a lot of problem "starting" something using "documentation". I know it sounds like handholding, but if I have a channel i want to start, what are the step-by step (I understand bullet points well). I have built a channel on the Roku interfact, but need some help with what the "Application Package" is. Is this a program I need to write, or is this an oop that i am supposed to download and adjust? I figure i need to grab a cloud account of some sort to host my material, and then insert the links, but its just the "getting it started" thing i am having issues with.

Basically, I am wanting to do a simple special interest subscription channel. I don't need anything fancy at first - it's going to be one of those "either you want it or you don't" channels... I am mostly in the PHP/PERL/SQL world, but I am pretty adaptable to picking up new languages - but mostly by manipulating examples.

I really appriciate any assistance
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
squirreltown
Roku Guru

Re: Newbie needing help

"phloide" wrote:
I am pretty adaptable to picking up new languages - but mostly by manipulating examples.

Thats a good thing, because there are really no tutorials, and unlike PHP, where you can find an answer easily with Google, the only place to get answers is this developer board. The people here are friendly and want to help you, you just have to have some idea of what you are asking. Tearing apart existing example channels is the way to learn.