Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lmsilva
Visitor

Bypassing remote commands

Dear all,

I'm brand new to Roku but I'm really excited about it as a development platform.
I want to develop an application but I cannot find any documentation on how can I do certain things, namely:
- bypass the default remote key mappings during video / image playback:
- what I want to do is to be able to use the up and down keys WHILE a video or image is being displayed;
- create another thread that continues execution while a video or image is being played (so that I can provide interaction while the video is being played);

Does anybody know how I can do these things?

I'm VERY excited about Roku but got a little disappointed last night as I was reading through the docs and couldn't find any references to this...

Also, one last question, where can I find some .brs code samples?

Thank you,
Luis
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
RokuChris
Roku Employee
Roku Employee

Re: Bypassing remote commands

"lmsilva" wrote:
I'm brand new to Roku but I'm really excited about it as a development platform.
I want to develop an application but I cannot find any documentation on how can I do certain things, namely:
- bypass the default remote key mappings during video / image playback:
- what I want to do is to be able to use the up and down keys WHILE a video or image is being displayed;
- create another thread that continues execution while a video or image is being played (so that I can provide interaction while the video is being played);

Does anybody know how I can do these things?

Those buttons have dedicated functions during video playback which cannot be overridden using roVideoScreen.