Discussions

More than a smart TV—a better TV. Learn more about using your Roku TV, locate help resources, and share your experience.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
StormTrooper
Level 8

Atmos Working in Netflix proof (pic attached)

I have been advocating for 2 years since I bought my 2018 6-series 65" TCL/ROKU TV, it came preloaded with the dolby app, it passes Atmos just fine for Disney+ and Vudu Movies App.

Ive emailed Dolby, TCL, Roku, spoke with Netflix's teir 1 tech support for 2 hrs taking pics of my operating system etc. After 2 weeks they emailed me back and said my device was incompatible with the Atmos format.....😔 🤦‍♂️... What!!!

Emailed Dolby, they pointed the finger at Netflix.

Then Netflix pointed the finger at the manufacturer stating that they leave the option up to the manufacturers to choose what format options are selected for their apps.

Emailed and called Roku, that was a nightmare as I spoke with someone from a  call center overseas in the Phillipines, they didn't understand what I was asking about.

And just 2 days ago I commented on Dolby's latest YouTube video about enjoying atmos in Netflix, they referred me to their tech support page, I emailed them again, sent the same pics, power cycle.... Etc. I told them, my TV is capable of passing Atmos signals, the app need to be updated with atmos enabled! 

Roku actually has Atmos up and running for Netflix with the 2019 MINI-LED TV, the 8-series. You can see the "Atmos" format tag on the Netflix app during The YouTube review of the TV by Digital Trends. 

I saw that and I was immediately appalled and in shock because of my 2 years of effort to get someone to update the **bleep** app. 

This is insanely, unnecessarily maddening! 

I TRULY don't know what's going on here.