Channel Issues & Questions

Help & troubleshooting for channels on your Roku device, including adding/removing channels, logging in to, authenticating, or activating a channel, channel-specific playback issues, assistance contacting channel publishers to report issues, and adjusting channel-specific settings.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 13

Re: Whats happening to Roku with HBO Max

Jump to solution

@tae111 wrote:

Thanks. 
codybellahauser seemed to suggest you could watch HBO Max in the Hulu app which I also have. I know I can watch HBO and HBO go on my TCL TV. I have been doing that since I bought it a few months ago. It's just a shame if I want to watch HBO Max I have to watch it on my 25" computer screen rather than my 65" TV.  In reality that probably won't happen so I guess I will have to just wait for Roku and HBO Max to come to an agreement if they are inclined to. 

No problem. There have been a number of replies on this thread and others incorrectly stating that you could view HBO Max content on a Roku with your HULU subscription.

This launch has just been a royal mess from all parties involved. I own three (3) TCL Roku TV's. I am also a HULU subscriber that I use daily on my TCL Roku TV's. On the day of the HBO Max launch the first time I opened the HULU app on my TCL Roku TV the top message on the screen encouraged me to sign up for HBO Max and enjoy all the great new content. If I had not read articles stating that it wasn't possible until the HBO Max standalone app was available on Roku, I could have gone through the entire subscription process to find out that it wouldn't allow me access to the Max portion of content on a Roku device. Shame on Roku, shame on AT&T and shame on HULU for encouraging this on a platform that doesn't have an agreement in place.

TCL Roku-TV 55P605 (4K/HDR/DV) | VIZIO SB36512‑F6 ATMOS Soundbar | Fire TV Stick 4K
TCL Roku-TV 43S425 (4K HDR) | Fire TV Stick 4K