Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CableBoy
Roku Guru

Gray screen, static clicks, tapping with freezing jumping since new release 12.0.0

Hello All,

i have been using my Roku 4230x - Roku 3 for several years without any problems. 

That said, my system has developed a problem that I could use some help/suggestions to resolve its problem.

Description of the problem: After watching a couple of hours of YouTube videos, my screen starts jittering and then turns gray. At the same time, the sound starts making random clicking noises. The only way out is to restart my Roku 3. Then everything is great again for another hour. And then it starts all over again.

Things I tried: I cleared cache and deleted 1/2 my channels. I currently have 36 defined. Restarting my Roku 3 does temporarily solve the problem, only to have it return in a hour or so.

Equipment/software: Roku 4230X - Roku 3, Samsung 40” dumb tv, Verizon Fios 5 Mbps internet. Software version 12.0.0 build 4184~04. Only the Roku software has changed. The rest of the environment has not changed in years. Roku is Ethernet wired. Not WiFi. Roku network status is “Good (4 Mbps)”. MicroSD card 12% used.

is my system just old and tired or did the new Roku software destroy my system? Or could this be a YouTube issue? Anybody else have the same problem?

Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
24 REPLIES 24
RokuEuniceL
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Gray screen, static clicks, tapping with freezing jumping since new release 12.0.0

Hi @CableBoy,

Thanks for posting here in the Roku Community!