Roku setup

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Updating issues

Jump to solution

@CodeButcher wrote:

@Guardian-Droid wrote:

Hi Danny R,

I'm a network administrator at a university, and we have had a handful individuals experience this issue. I have packet-captures showing that traffic is flowing between the Roku and the Firmware Update server successfully. I would like to troubleshoot this issue further to determine the root cause of this "reboot loop" despite the Roku's having full access to the the internet and the update server.

From my experience with the Roku Express, it's the cable or even the TV that causes the failure after restart.  What it's trying to do is verify the max Resolution if the TV, Be it 720p, 1080p or even 4K (2160p) as well as the maximum internet connection speed of the internet.  The cheap HDMI cable that comes with the Roku just cheap. Use a better HDMI cable. Good Luck!

Thanks, I'm going to definitely need it. It's driving our help desk crazy amongst the online learning they also support. Students are buying brand new Roku devices from the store, and whatever reason, some of them this enter this setup loop when connect to our network first time, download firmware, reboot, and back to be language settings. The workaround is they connect to a hot spot, perform a firmware update, and this time they can complete the setup, move back to our network, and they're golden. The "out of the box" ones seem to be running Roku 7, then after the update, Roku 9.X. And I have no explanation as to why one network works and another doesn't (initially) beyond some bizarre defect in the Roku 7 code based on the packet captures I've gathered, it fetches the update.

0 Kudos
Diamondeewv
Level 8