Roku mobile app

Discover troubleshooting and helpful tips for the Roku mobile app. Learn how to use the Roku remote on your phone, add channels, privately listen, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
UrbanCowboy
Binge Watcher

Unable to sign in The email address or password provided does not match our records

I've been working in mobile app development for the last 8 years, and have had my fair share of rolls as a QA, BA, Team Leader and Scrum Master. When I install your Roku app from the Google Play Store, and try and authenticate using my credentials, I cannot get past the modal "Unable to sign in, The email  address or password provided does not match our records"

Let me tell you what I've done to get past the issue and what I am using, maybe that will make it easier. 

OnePlus8T KB2005, Android 13 running the December 5th 2023 Security Update, I have a T-Mobile and AT&T SIM and connected to WiFi. 

1. Ensured I'm on a solid WiFi or mobile data connection, I've tried with just WiFi (mobile data off), and just Mobile Data for both T-Mobile and AT&T. 

2. Uninstalled and reinstalled the app

3. Force quit and cleared cache multiple times

4. Ensured that I am not using a DNS or other personalized network configurations

5. Logged into the my.roku.com account with the same credentials for the mobile app, using a web browser on my device. 

6. Changed the default browser app on my device to Google Chrome (just a guess, but it appears your authentication is using a web wrapper)

7. Changed the default browser app on my device to stock Android

8. Changed my password (more than 1 time)

9. Changed the email address on my account

Nothing is working and I'm lost, I'm about to hook this up to Charles Proxy and see what is blocking the authentication. 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
46 REPLIES 46
RokuJanadeeK
Community Moderator
Community Moderator