Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
StreamerStam
Channel Surfer

Roku Express 3900X - Roku OS 11.0.0. build 4193-51 Issues

I own two Roku Express 3900X streaming devices (among many other Roku devices).

One was recently automatically updated from OS 10.5 to 11.0.0. build 4193-51.

Upon update I have numerous issues such as previously used network getting disconnected, Roku media player and HD Homerun apps not playing back sub 1080p content correctly, and most annoyingly having my TV shut off the usb port with a power overload message that never happened on 10.5. 

My other Roku Express 3900X device has not been updated from 10.5 to 11.0 and has none of the issues described above. 

I have been a big Roku fan for years and I sell electronics for a living. I have always recommended Roku enthusiastically to customers despite some of it's short comings. However, Roku you absolutely have to allow 2 things on your OS updates.

1. At least a prompt for notifying the user if they want to update the OS, instead of automatically installing it.

2. The ability to ROLLBACK the OS update to a previous version that was working fine (in my case 10.5 from 11.0) if the update breaks any features or creates issues.

You can not release updates without thoroughly testing them to make sure they do not break features that are working perfectly. That is lazy testing and QC. If my device is working correctly and you all automatically update it and is then malfunctioning from said update then that is horrible tech support. 

I am hoping if you do not allow rollbacks in the near future that you at least update the 11.0 OS to fix the issues I described on my device and soon. 

21 REPLIES 21
FastFurious
Roku Guru