Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
astudios
Channel Surfer

maintain original video aspect ratio..?

hello,

i'm a new roku developer and i have a simple question.

many of our videos are still in 4:3 format. but we have the roku connected to a 16:9 tv. when we attempt to play one of our videos using the "simplevideoplayer" sample program, it is stretched pretty badly. is there any way we can tell roku to play the video and maintain the original aspect ratio of the video itself? we are streaming the H.264-encoded video via the HLS protocol.

thank you!
steven
0 Kudos
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Visitor

Re: maintain original video aspect ratio..?

It should be maintaining aspect ratio. Is the TV's 'wide' mode set appropriately?
0 Kudos
astudios
Channel Surfer

"RokuPatrick" wrote:
It should be maintaining aspect ratio. Is the TV's 'wide' mode set appropriately?

Yes. It is. In fact, I cycled through the various display settings from FULL to WIDE to ZOOM, etc. I have it usually set on FULL. I have it connected via HDMI.

Is there any way in the SDK to explicitly specify the aspect ratio of the video?

Thanks
Steven
0 Kudos
Anonymous
Visitor

"astudios" wrote:
"RokuPatrick" wrote:

Yes. It is. In fact, I cycled through the various display settings from FULL to WIDE to ZOOM, etc. I have it usually set on FULL. I have it connected via HDMI.

Is there any way in the SDK to explicitly specify the aspect ratio of the video?

Thanks
Steven

No, you can't explicitly set the aspect ratio. Is the Roku set to HD or at least 16x9 output? If you want to send me a link to some sample content that demonstrates the problem, we're happy to take a look.

Patrick
0 Kudos
astudios
Channel Surfer

"RokuPatrick" wrote:
"astudios" wrote:
"RokuPatrick" wrote:

Thanks
Steven