Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
umesh
Visitor

can i create .so /.dll / module for roku?

Hi,

I am new to Roku application development. I am planning to write an application for Roku box. I would like to create a module which can be linked by my roku app either statically or dynamically. So, it is like creating .so/.dll and linking application with the module. I posted this message on 'Roku streaming player' forum (My mistake 😞 ) and someone directed me to this forum with short answer saying i can't create .so /.dll and link an application. I read through the developer guide and other developer documents available in the SDK and I searched this forum as well for the way to create modules but closest thing I got is 'Script Libraries'. The problem with the 'Script libraries' is source code is visible to the application developers, if i would like to share it with them. I would like to know about alternative approach where i can write a library which is similar to 'Script libraries' but is in binary format.

Any pointers / links / information will be highly appreciated.

Thanks
Umesh
0 Kudos
10 REPLIES 10
Trevor
Visitor

Re: can i create .so /.dll / module for roku?

There may be a way to do this, but it's very doubtful. The Roku box compiles the code to byte code so everything that we create with is text, there's no way to send in something already compiled and link it with non-compiled code. Script libraries is your only option.
*** Trevor Anderson - bloggingwordpress.com - moviemavericks.com ***
0 Kudos
RokuMarkn
Visitor