Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pauljay
Visitor

Installation success but no channel menu come out

I am a newbie to Roku developer. Just registered as Roku developer and downloaded SDK.
In examples, I have just modified non featured part of a simplevideoplayer example.
Actually I have changed the title name only. And zipped again and named it same.
The original was saved onto the other name.

I saw installation was successful on the web browser. But in Roku player on TV, there appears no new channel at all.
So I have installed original ( untouched ) simplevideoplayer.zip again.
Now new channel menu appears.

What's wrong with me ?
So any modifications in examples weren't be effective.

'Swap the commented values below to play different video clips...
urls = ["http://video.ted.com/talks/podcast/CraigVenter_2008_480.mp4"]
qualities = ["HD"]
StreamFormat = "mp4"
title = "Craig Venter Synthetic Life"
srt = "file://pkg:/source/craigventer.srt"

I have just changed title into "Craig sample" title = "Craig sample"
But it doesn't effec as well as no menu in Roku player on TV.
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
RokuMarkn
Visitor

Re: Installation success but no channel menu come out

Sounds like the zip file you created is not structured correctly. Unzip the working zip file and then unzip the one you created. The directory layout should be the same.

--Mark
0 Kudos
pauljay
Visitor

I have unzipped a simplevideoplayer.zip. And got the simplevideoplayer folder. And after, i zipped the folder again to same name of simplevideoplayer.zip.
Upload and install it but in vain. Original simplevideoplayer.zip works fine. But unzipped and zipped file doesn't work.

I am working on mac os and working directory is my personal folder. Not root directory.