Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lewashby
Channel Surfer

Developing a personal/private media player

Hi, hew here to the developer forum. For a while I was trying to use a Plex Media server running on TerraMaster, to save time I won't go into the reasons I want to replace Plex for my personal media, but I am looking to replace it. Although I was able to us Roku's My Media and it was able to stream the videos from my TerraMaster Plex server I wasn't able to pause, or rewind, or both, I can't remember for sure, but I would also prefer my own interface that works with the Roku remote. I would like to create my own Roku app that can serve up m own videos, images, music on an interface of my design. I'm currently a php developer and although I'm no expert with htmls/css/javascript I can usually get by. I would like some advice and feedback on getting started and what I'm looking at. How big of a project this will be. Thanks.

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
TwitchBronBron
Streaming Star

Re: Developing a personal/private media player

That's a pretty big project! I did this exact thing for a while, but it got to be too much. Scraping media metadata and integrating with imdb/tmdb/tvdb is a pain. Writing a Roku app from scratch and integrating with your custom php backend is also a decent lift. 

I would recommend giving Jellyfin a try. Their entire codebase is open source. So it's easy to submit big fixes or new features. They have a pretty decent server plugin system. And if you really need to deviate outside of that, you could just fork it and publish your own versions of the server or Roku app. 

0 Kudos
renojim
Community Streaming Expert