Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shangreaux79
Reel Rookie

Roku remote made a popping noise and jolted in my hand

Was holding my roku remote and it popped and jolted my hand. I'm not injured and it seems to be working still but now I'm scared lol. Anyone have any answers on if it's still safe to keep this thing?

12 REPLIES 12
mop_891
Roku Guru

Re: Roku remote made a popping noise and jolted in my hand

@Shangreaux79 

I am totally guessing here. I've been using remotes of all shapes and sizes since the 1980's. Never seen that. The ones I've used had 4 batteries max (6 volt total) most are 2 batteries (3 volts). The only thing I can think of is 1. Batteries put in wrong. That could cause some heat and ruptured batteries or 2. Very new and very old batteries used at the same time. Also can cause heat. In any case I'm guessing your remote is fried and won't work ever again.

0 Kudos
Shangreaux79
Reel Rookie

Crazy thing is...batteries are of the same brand and were brand new when I put them in. They aren't fried and remote still works.

0 Kudos
RokuKarla
Retired Moderator

Re: Roku remote made a ing noise and jolted in my hand. It's working but I'm scared. What just ha...

Hello @Shangreaux79

Welcome to the Roku Community.

Please reply here with the serial number of the Roku device associated with the affected remote. It can be viewed by navigating to Settings > System > About. I'll be able to further assist you from there.

Regards,
Karla

0 Kudos
Shangreaux79
Reel Rookie

Re: Roku remote made a ing noise and jolted in my hand. It's working but I'm scared. What just ha...

X00400N2UAC5

0 Kudos
RokuNimfa-C
Retired Moderator

@Shangreaux79 

Thanks for the information. 

I have passed along your information and concern to our Support team. I'd recommend keeping an eye on your email since they'll be reaching out to you from there.