Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JKris
Reel Rookie

Roku Remote stopped Controlling Power and Volume

I have a Vizio model VO32L using Roku Streaming Stick 4K with voice activated remote. I’ve been using it for about two months with no problems controlling tv volume and power. Today it just stopped controlling TV volume and power. I have done the following things with no luck

Reset system

Check for updates

New Batteries

Re Paired remote

Tried multiple television brand codes (Sony, LG, Westing House, Hitachi)

Nothing can get that stupid music to stop when I’m setting up the remote  I’m super frustrated  I actually had this same problem with an older roku from 2018 and bought this new one hoping it would fix the issue  Well it worked for about two months  

11 REPLIES 11
makaiguy
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Roku Remote stopped Controlling Power and Volume

@JKris-

@Tivoburkeeis our most knowledgeable forum user for remote issues.  He may be able to suggest some other TV brands to try.

Some people in your situation have reported success by temporarily connecting to a different wifi network, such as a phone's hotspot, for reprogramming the television controls.  Once done you can switch back to your normal network.

Roku Community Streaming Expert
I am not a Roku employee, only a user like you.  Please, no support questions via private message -- post them publicly to the Community where others may benefit as well.
If this post solves your problem please help others find this answer by clicking "Accept as Solution.".

Ultra 4800 | Streaming Stick 4K+ 3821 | TCL Roku TV 43S245/C107X
0 Kudos
JKris
Reel Rookie

It worked fine the next morning. 

Now, two weeks later it’s happening again. 

0 Kudos
RokuKariza-D
Retired Moderator

Hi @JKris

We're sorry to hear about the issue you're experiencing.