Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
taschmidt
Streaming Star

Re: Roku Streaming Stick 3800X Stuck at Checking for new software

Jump to solution

@dobbz ironically, I'm a software engineer who was specifically looking for older hardware to test on. So upgrading goes against the very thing I was trying to test. Very frustrating.

It could very well be planned obsolescence but now that I have some experience developing on Roku, it wouldn't surprise me a bit to learn that this is an upgrade path that they simply never tested and they're code is breaking as a result.

0 Kudos
RokuNimfa-C
Retired Moderator

Jump to solution

@taschmidt 

Thanks for following up. 

Our support team is now aware of your issue and will be reaching out to you through email.  Please be ready to receive their correspondence and continue assisting you from there. 

We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work toward a resolution.

Regards, 
Nimfa

0 Kudos
taschmidt
Streaming Star

Jump to solution

@RokuNimfa-C your support has gotten me absolutely nowhere. I just keep getting canned responses thinking it's my network (it definitely is not). The latest response said that while I won't get new updates on this older device I can continue to use it. But that's not true since the initial setup can't complete without successfully checking for updates!

taschmidt
Streaming Star

Jump to solution

This whole situation is frustrating. Their support eventually agreed to DO ME A FAVOR just this once and replace my out-of-warranty "defective device" rather than admit that there's absolutely nothing wrong my actual device and take responsibility for what's obviously a bug in their shoddy software!

therourke
Reel Rookie

Jump to solution