Discussions

Is your Roku TV not working? Join our online community forum to find help with common Roku TV issues, get troubleshooting tips, and share your experiences.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
madarp
Channel Surfer

Re: Roku TV TCL Black Screen on display

I just want to weigh in a bit here.  I am an embedded software engineer, with 35 years experience, and 10 of those in consumer electronics (dvd players, TVs, cable and satellite settop boxes).  I have this black screen issue on my own TCL/roku TV, and I can tell you that it is NOT the backlight.  My TCL TV backlight is blazing away, bright as ever, because I am running my "screen black" TV with the back panel taken off.  I can see the backlight!  I have even replaced the backlight power supply with a $40 board I ordered off ebay.  It is not the backlight.

The screen is "programmatically" showing a black screen because somewhere in the software, Roku has set a bit on a TCL chip or an interface that is commanding it to "blank the screen". That means "keep the backlight on, but show a black screen". And this bit is sticky, so it may live in EEPROM or some other non-volatile storage area so it survives a power-off and factory reset operation. The issue is that so far, they have not figured out where or how that bit is being set, and how to unset it.

Roku if you are listening:  Please just provide a USB firmware "update.roku" that does not require any user interaction to roll back the firmware.  We can write it to a USB thumb drive, pop it in the back and power on the TV and it will roll back the firmware to a previous state without any user intervention (no key presses, no reading codes on screens).   It is consumer electronics firmware updates 101-- super basic stuff that was tried and true, learned through hard-won lessons over many years, to fix issues out in the field.

Paul65
Streaming Star