Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lostinatl
Channel Surfer

Roku 10.5.0 DRM protected content & licensing error on Discovery+, HBO Max, Youtube

I have a Roku Streambar that was updated this morning at 10:57 am EDT.  Since the update - Youtube.TV has stopped working and getting streaming errors.   Discovery + does not work and gives a "Sorry, there was an error trying to playback DRM protected content."  Peacock gives an error of "Generic Playback error - Protected contact license error."  I have contacted Roku support via chat and they have sent the issue up to engineering and I am waiting for a response.  Netflix works, Prime Video Works, Hulu Is broken, HBOMax is broken, etc... 

The system was upgraded to Software Version 10.5.0 Build 4174-95.

54 REPLIES 54
renojim
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Roku 10.5.0 DRM protected content & licensing error on Discovery+, HBO Max, Youtube

@lostinatl, if you're still having problems check for updates from Settings->System updates and restart from Settings->System->System restart.  Do those two things a couple of times.

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee.
0 Kudos
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Re: Roku 10.5.0 DRM protected content & licensing error on Discovery+, HBO Max, Youtube

@lostinatl 

Thanks for the post.

Can you please provide us the following information:
-Roku device model, serial number, device ID, and software OS/version (these can all be found in Settings > System > About)