Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bobo1950

Different and wrong local stations on FOXNOW, CBS All Access, and NBC apps

I question whether it's a channel provider issue.  I had been receiving the proper channels for several months and all of a sudden all my channels now come out of Philadelphia when I live in Chicago.  This problem is unique to just one provider.  It's happening through FUBO, HULU, Sling, and every other provider I use.

0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7
pmorner

Re: Different and wrong local stations on FOXNOW, CBS All Access, and NBC apps

Your answer is totally FALSE!. I am having the same problem others have described...all of a sudden, ALL of my Roku apps think I live in Philadelphia...I live in Chicago!!! How do I fix this on Roku???

0 Kudos
pmorner

does anyone really work at Roku?...why is this issue not being communicated to subscribers and when will Roku fix THEIR problem?

0 Kudos
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

@pmorner wrote:

does anyone really work at Roku?...why is this issue not being communicated to subscribers and when will Roku fix THEIR problem?

It is not a Roku problem. Each channel developer has their own method on how to determine your location (if that's something they need to know). The Roku has no idea where it is, other than the time zone. And just because it only happens on a Roku device means nothing, because the apps for Roku devices is written in a completely different programming language from apps on Fire TV, Apple TV, or other types of operating systems. The apps may all look the same, but the function completely differently underneath. It is a problem with the channel, not the Roku device. And only the channel provider can resolve the issue.