Channel Issues & Questions

Help & troubleshooting for channels on your Roku device, including adding/removing channels, logging in to, authenticating, or activating a channel, channel-specific playback issues, assistance contacting channel publishers to report issues, and adjusting channel-specific settings.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gary1001
Level 7

10.5 causes Paramount to fail

Up until their 10.5 update I never had problem with Romulo but now ALL three of my devices will not play Paramount when a commercial plays.  The device just stops and will not continue.  Since I am a former developer, it’s obvious the software people DID NOT TEST THEIR revisions.  It just astounds me how these young developers are soooo incompetent.

Tags (1)
43 REPLIES 43\
Musoka
Level 10

Re: 10.5 causes Paramount to fail

Tell me, are you adjusting your home network and setting your own dns somehow? Or perhaps using a pihole? We've (technical users, not the Roku people) found a common thread of failed primary dns servers in one way or another over on a Disney Plus 10.5 thread. The amount of time so many things have been broken on 10.5 I'm truly astounded they aren't offering a path back to 10.0. My tv finally worked fine for once on that firmware. I'm super curious about your DNS setup though. Roku staff likely has me muted by now but hopefully someone is investigating what changed in dns protocols on 10.5. 

0 Kudos
Musoka
Level 10

My rough feeling without any proper data after extensive conversations with other users is that roku is either- not switching to a secondary dns server. Or, it doesn't like internal dns addresses set as the DNS server due to some fark up over there. 

dragonboots2005
Level 10

I've had this problem since early October and have not done anything to fix it or so it seems.  I may ditch Roku over this.  If incompetence & apathy to customer service is their new norm, I'm out.  

ellen-l
Level 9