Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: It still didn't work in the hotel no matter what I do

Jump to solution

One more thing.  I have been writing software for 25 years and know a design flaw when I see one.   Who ever did the R &D for this hotel feature didn't take enough samples on ways hotels authenticate or didn't take the data and design a method that would work for all cases.

atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Jump to solution

@Steven2583a wrote:

No Dan Roku needs to modify their software so there is an advance setting on network/wifi to treat the wifi connection as a locked network and/or always ask the Hotel or Dorm. question when selecting the network.    

I don't disagree. While it's a great idea, Roku's execution of the function is lacking. They need a way to manually trigger the hotel function. I've written a few computer programs myself, so I don't think it would be difficult to implement. Something tells me they didn't test this in-house too deeply, and since the public beta testers (I am one) might not travel often, or certainly not to the same location repeatedly, it's unlikely the beta testers would catch this. I do travel a fair amount, and while I usually stay in a Marriott property, it's seldom the same hotel. 

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee, just another user.
sleepwalker
Channel Surfer

Jump to solution