Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SssGraccc

Sound issue - Can’t Hear Voices, Music Is OK

My Roku was working fine but turned on a movie and all the background music plays and sounds just fine, but you can’t hear anything when the characters speak.

roku is running through a receiver. Changed to new HDMI cable. I’m not technically savvy so I can’t figure it out

0 Kudos
15 REPLIES 15
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Sound issue - Can’t Hear Voices, Music Is OK

Since you're connected to an AVR, I think we can isolate this. Most online content from sources like Netflix or Amazon Prime (and others) is is in 5.1 surround, almost always Dolby Digital+. Music, ambient sounds, and anything off screen will come from the left/right front/rear speakers. However, almost all dialog will come from the center speaker. It sounds like your center speaker might have become disconnected from the AVR. Or perhaps you don't have a center speaker, but you haven't told the AVR it doesn't have one. In that case, the AVR sends the center sound to the left/right front speakers to create a "phantom" center speaker. 

But this is almost assuredly something not correct with your AVR. The Roku is simply sending all audio to the AVR, and has no audio processing itself. 

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee, just another user.
BeverlyBS

I have the same issue with a Vizio soundbar.  I have checked the soundbar and it has a center channel.  I have contacted Vizio and since the sound works fine with everything but Prime movies, they say the problem is not in the soundbar.  

0 Kudos
Bodey7