Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ex_spurt
Channel Surfer

Premiere+ Super excessive data usage after idling for weeks

I understand that Roku player keeps streaming under some conditions with TV off. I'm pretty certain this is not one of those cases. I've been using Roku for many years, and have had 3 different players starting with the original one that had analog connections.

I have not been able to watch TV for various reasons for the past few months, and have not used the Roku in that time. But suddenly, after idling along nicely, it used 800 GB in two days, mostly downloading something (all I can tell is it's SSL/TLS data). My Asus router has a statistics page that shows data used for every device for the past month, week, or day. Also, in my home, I have a 500 GB limit, and have never reached that amount, usually not even close.

The only change I can conceive of that has been made during this time is I changed the DNS setting on my router to try out Cloudflare's free DNS 1.1.1.1, which is a popular service supposedly providing fast, private DNS. I haven't used any sort of VPN, or even Cloudflare's WARP service, which can be used on devices, but not routers, I dont think.

My TV, which I haven't watched, is only an old standard HD unit, and I don't think it could use that much data even if it was somehow continuously streaming.

I have powered the Roku off for now, but I'd like to be able to use it in the future, so it would be nice to have some idea what could have happened. Any clues?

4 REPLIES 4
AvsGunnar
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Premiere+ Super excessive data usage after idling for weeks

@ex_spurt