Roku setup

From linking a device to your account to adding channels, find Roku setup troubleshooting help and activation support from our community support forum.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
okrautang

Complete Beginner. Some Questions...

I received a Roku Premiere for my birthday after mentioning that I wanted to ditch my cable tv package. After checking the Roku website, I'm not sure if it's worth it to make the jump. Hopefully I'm just missing something simple.

It looks like I connect the Roku to my wi-fi and stream specific shows, but I need to purchase subscriptions to each channel/app I want to access? Are those fees on a monthly or yearly basis? Does the subscription give me 24/7 access to all shows on that particular network?

Right now, I have a Netflix subscription and DVR through my cable tv package, and I'm paying about $80 per month. Since I can't see prices for the different Roku channel subscriptions, I'm concerned it's going to be about the same cost to watch the same programs in a more cumbersome way. What am I missing?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 REPLY 1
AvsGunnar
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Complete Beginner. Some Questions...

@okrautang 

There are different options depending on the type of content you wish to stream.  Generally, if you want to access everything you did while you had cable or satellite, then you are either going to have purchase individual channel subscriptions or subscribe to a "cable-alternative" service like Hulu, Youtube TV, Sling, etc. (https://channelstore.roku.com/browse/cable-alternative).

Generally, the subscriptions are monthly so you can subscribe and drop whenever you want. (generally, no pro-rating, so just about everything is billed 30 days and automatically renews unless cancelled).

There are also free ad-supported channels you can install (Roku Channel, Tubi, Pluto, Filmrise, Fawesome, Sling (free version), etc) that are ad-supported.