Roku mobile app

Discover troubleshooting and helpful tips for the Roku mobile app. Learn how to use the Roku remote on your phone, add channels, privately listen, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
agarcia94
Reel Rookie

Mobile app not connecting to Roku device

I’ve been using Roku for a few years now with minimal issues. Just recently, my devices (streaming stick+) won’t connect to my mobile app. Our Roku TV it can find just fine. I have went through every step they list in their “Get help?” link at the bottom, and no luck. Both connected to the same network, network is up and running fine, did a restart through the settings on Roku and closed all the way out of the mobile app (I’d prefer not to unplug the stick if I don’t have to since the tv is mounted up on our wall), made sure the “connect with device” is selected on Roku (set to default), and even tried to manually connect using the IP with no success. I’m at my whits end here. Is it me, or is it Roku?🤦🏻‍♀️

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
16 REPLIES 16
AvsGunnar
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Mobile app not connecting to Roku device

@agarcia94 

A few different things to try when mobile app doesn't see/connect to Roku device.

1. From within Roku device, try resetting the network connection. (Settings/System/Advanced System Settings/Network Connection Reset/Reset Connection).  This should reestablish a new connection between your Roku device and your Router.

2. Restart/reboot your Router, your Roku, and your Mobile device that has the remote app.  (Do a power-cycle of all devices by turning all devices off, then back on).

3. Try using another free mobile remote app to see if Roku issue. (Try using Romote by William Seeman in the Play Store if using Android.  This one is open source, free, with no ads).