Roku Direct Publisher

Roku Direct Publisher - the easiest way to create a great TV experience. Learn more about how to create a Roku channel and share your experiences with others.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jmatt0806
Channel Surfer

Feed Status - Unable to download from feedUrl?

I'm just getting started with a Direct Publisher feed and I keep getting the following on the Feed Status page:

Unable to download from feedUrl.

I've tried refreshing many times over the last day and get the same message every time. I've checked the JSON file on my server and it is there, the JSON is valid and I've followed the developer specs. How do I know the actual problem?
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
37mediagroup
Roku Guru

Re: Feed Status - Unable to download from feedUrl?

Hmmm, it would help if you posted a link of the url to inspect. I assume for privacy reasons your not looking to. I would suggest pasting the json content into myjson.com or something, and see if the Roku accepts that feed. It would help narrow down some things if it works or doesn't imho. If it does accept it, it's like something with where/how its hosted, or the url name & extension. 
0 Kudos
jmatt0806
Channel Surfer

"Pasnow" wrote:
Hmmm, it would help if you posted a link of the url to inspect. I assume for privacy reasons your not looking to. I would suggest pasting the json content into myjson.com or something, and see if the Roku accepts that feed. It would help narrow down some things if it works or doesn't imho. If it does accept it, it's like something with where/how its hosted, or the url name & extension. 

OK, the myjson.com site worked with the same JSON. I noticed myjson.com has CORS enabled in the response and my host doesn't. I don't have a way to enable CORS on my server so I'll have to stick with using myjson.com for now.