Roku Direct Publisher

Roku Direct Publisher - the easiest way to create a great TV experience. Learn more about how to create a Roku channel and share your experiences with others.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Spacehog
Streaming Star

Creating a live streaming Roku channel for people who don't know HTML

I'm in a tough situation because I have a server with more than enough storage space to do a 24/7 streaming channel, but I am lost without a map when it comes to coding. (I have zero knowledge of HTML or any other form of coding and instanttvchannel.com is almost impossible to work with.) I have much of the steps for the channel ready in Roku Developers, but can't get anything going to create my channel. Is there anyone here with experience with creating 24/7 streaming channels that can help me? 

Disclaimer: I am 100% new to this and have little to know understanding of coding so you'll have to be patient with me. 

0 Kudos
13 REPLIES 13
Baradanikto
Roku Guru

Re: Creating a live streaming Roku channel for people who don't know HTML

@Spacehog  Unfortunately, you've got a pretty good learning curve ahead of you.  I'd suggest you start with the basics by taking a look at Building a Roku Channel.  You'll also need to become familiar with the Json syntax for building a feed file.

FREE Windows desktop software for converting Direct Publisher channels to SceneGraph (SDK), for creating BIF (Trick Play) files, Roku (MRSS, JSON) feed files, and FireTV feed files @ GitHub/rrirower.
Spacehog
Streaming Star

Hi @AaronMSpelling,

Since we're at square one, any and all help is appreciated. Even streaming for a few hours at a time is a good start. I'll message you as soon as I can. 

0 Kudos
Baradanikto
Roku Guru

@Spacehog 

You don't really need to know HTML to prepare a channel.  That's the positive for using Direct Publisher.  All you need to do is create a "feed file" that defines your channel.