Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jyt
Binge Watcher

advice in purchasing device

Jump to solution

i have limited knowledge of electronics.  

10 month old roku (premier?  it's not labeled. the $28 model. ) device appears to have died.  wireless does not connect even tho screen says wireless signal is "strong."  tv is older toshiba with hdmi and 1080.  

i bought a replacement:  roku ultra (the $69 model).  it will not turn the set on or off and the volume changed one incremental number at a time.  15 clicks to turn it up or down.  (i returned it to seller.)  that issue seems odd given the first, more simple, device (premier?) handled on/off and volume with one click.  

question:  which roku recommended for older tv --where on/off and volume will perform correctly?  this is my bedroom set where only hulu and criterion involved.

thank you for helping me.

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Strega
Roku Guru

Re: advice in purchasing device

Jump to solution

I would guess the TV control was related to which IR codeset was chosen, rather than anything fundamental to the model type.  Ie: sometimes when asked whether you can hear the music or whatever some automated code selector is asking, it can be a good idea to lie to it, and move on to try another codeset.  Some manufacturers have MANY IR codesets and some of them overlap/partially work with the "wrong" TV.

View solution in original post

jyt
Binge Watcher

Jump to solution

never occurred to me to "lie" to an electronic device😉.  will go retrieve it from the 'to-be-returned' box in trunk of my car and try again.  thankyou.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
Strega
Roku Guru

Jump to solution