Roku Device Features, Settings & Updates

Help configuring Roku device settings, using Roku OS features such as screen mirroring, adjusting display type and audio settings, using Guest Mode, and assistance with software updates.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bvd1022
Level 9

Question about Micro SD cards

Hi,

I apologize if this is someone else has already made a similar thread to this. I just ordered an 8GB Scandisk micro SD card for my Roku 3. I have never used a micro SD card before and I was wondering if there is anyone in the forums who could tell me what I need to do once I get the card as far as installation and what their experience has been using cards with their Roku?

Thanks.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
41 Replies
Basil
Level 10

Re: Question about Micro SD cards

"bvd1022" wrote:
Hi,

I apologize if this is someone else has already made a similar thread to this. I just ordered an 8GB Scandisk micro SD card for my Roku 3. I have never used a micro SD card before and I was wondering if there is anyone in the forums who could tell me what I need to do once I get the card as far as installation and what their experience has been using cards with their Roku?

Thanks.

If the card is compatible with the Roku, you will be prompted to format it, if necessary. Once it's ready to go (if it's already formatted correctly, or after it's formatted), it will show up under Main Menu: Settings > System > About.
Basil
https://www.basilsblog.com/
Roku Ultra (4660)
Apple TV (5th gen), TiVo

Previous:
Roku boxes from every generation.
Apple TV (2nd, 3rd, 4th gen)
0 Kudos
Tecmo_SB_Guy
Level 7

8 GB is a bit much isn't it? I mean it would work just fine.

But I thought I read here once that 4 GB micro SD card would do just as good?
0 Kudos
jeffrok
Level 12

Just make sure it's a MicroSD and not a MicroSDHC
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
0 Kudos
bvd1022
Level 9

"jeffrok" wrote:
"Tecmo SB Guy" wrote: