Roku Device Features, Settings & Updates

Help configuring Roku device settings, using Roku OS features such as screen mirroring, adjusting display type and audio settings, using Guest Mode, and assistance with software updates.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JasonWilliam
Level 8

Mute work around

Hi all.  I'm pretty new to Roku and streaming services in general, and one thing clearly missing from my Roku (Streaming Stick+) is a mute button.  I was poking around today and figured out a pretty nifty work around.  I searched and didn't find it mentioned, so I apologize if its been shared before already but in case not, maybe this will help others.

First, don't use the Roku remote.  Instead download the mobile app.  Within the app, pull up the Remote feature.  Find the headphones icon on the bottom right of the screen.  Tap it.  You're now playing the audio thru your mobile device.  Turn down or off the media volume on your device.  Tap again to return the audio to your TV.  Bingo.  Instant mute.

I tested this with both Android and iOS devices against the Streaming Stick+ and several different channels, and it works the same each time.  Can't speak for all Roku devices nor channels though so your mileage may vary.

Hope that helps!

Labels (1)
13 Replies
blade_005
Level 11

Re: Mute work around

"JasonWilliam" wrote:
Hi all.  I'm pretty new to Roku and streaming services in general, and one thing clearly missing from my Roku (Streaming Stick+) is a mute button.  I was poking around today and figured out a pretty nifty work around.  I searched and didn't find it mentioned, so I apologize if its been shared before already but in case not, maybe this will help others.