Roku Device Features, Settings & Updates

Help configuring Roku device settings, using Roku OS features such as screen mirroring, adjusting display type and audio settings, using Guest Mode, and assistance with software updates.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Oddball
Level 7

Can a USB Drive Allow Fast-fwd on ALL Commercials?

Hi all,

Noob here.

I've read that a USB drive, added to certain Roku devices that CAN accept them (and apparently, our 3800X, which is only 2-3 months old, CANNOT) will allow you to fast-forward through the commercials.

My Questions:
1. Does this all fast-forwarding (hereinafter referred to as "FF) through ALL content available through Roku?

2. Is there any way I can add a USB-capability to our (6-7 y.o., NON-smart TV), since our Roku 3800X does NOT have a USB-port?

3.  IF there is no "workaround" to add a USB to work with our "non-USB-slotted" Roku 3800X, can someone please recommend the best device to upgrade to, while still keeping our "dumb" TV?

Thanks,

Oddball
0 Kudos
11 Replies
twiceover
Level 10

Re: Can a USB Drive Allow Fast-fwd on ALL Commercials?

This allows fast forwarding and replay on Roku TV models.  On Roku boxes with USB it is used to play back your local video files.
0 Kudos
atc98092
Level 13

In addition, most Roku channels allow FF, but not through any commercials. And of course, if you play local media from the USB drive you can FF through that. The only way you can FF through TV broadcasts is if you are using some sort of DVR (TV recording) like a Tivo. 
Even with a Roku TV, you can't FF through the commercials unless you've paused what you're watching for enough time to get past the commercials. So you can't save any time watching an hour show in 40 minutes. You have the TV on the proper channel, pause it as soon as the show starts, and don't start watching it until about 20 minutes later.
Dan