Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gina95r
Channel Surfer

Airplay stopped working after changing wifi (still works with ethernet cable or on personal hotspot)

Hello..

I've been using airplay just fine for a couple of months on my Roku Express+. I recently moved across continents and with my new wifi airplay is not working anymore, I have to guess the problem is related to the router settings but I have no idea how to fix it.

P.s: I connected my laptop and Roku to my phone's hotspot and airplay still works fine, it is just on my wifi that it is not working.

Since every router setting panel is different I'll add pictures.

Someone help me please!!

Screen Shot 2021-07-03 at 1.14.01 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-03 at 1.13.54 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-03 at 1.13.49 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-03 at 1.13.36 PM.pngOne thing that I did notice is that when I connect Roku to the wifi, the IP for the internet is different to the one on my laptop, the one in my laptop is the same as it says up there in the pictures and the one on Roku is different and idk why.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
13 REPLIES 13
StreamerUser
Roku Guru

Re: Airplay stopped working after changing wifi (still works on personal hotspot)

You didnt mention your Roku model # or firmware version:  Settings/System/About

Test DIAL-based casting:  Open the YT app on your phone, press the Cast icon, see if your Roku shows up - if it does, proceed to the AirPlay steps, it doesnt, start with modem/etc setup.

Modem/router/gateway setup:

1) I notice your modem/router/gateway is 2.4Ghz-only - while this wont make any difference to your Express+, it might make a difference to your laptop or other dual-band/5Ghz-capable devices.

2) Enable Short Preamble (unless you have "B" device) and MU-MIMO