Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnny_g
Reel Rookie

Samples or Help establishing api token auth via User/Pass to a backend service

Just curious if there are samples out there or any writeups on how one could do this.  Also, to be noted I am a very green roku dev.

I am trying to establish connectivity to a backend api service and the auth piece will be 2-fold.  First establish server connection to pull available users.  So the first call will be something like GET https://hostname/api/Users/

The second piece will be either selecting a user, or manually typing in the username (users can be hidden from being returned by the aforementioned api) and then entering their password.  The call would then be a post to the server which would return user info plus a long-lasting authentication token to be used with all future api calls.

There could be multiple users and thus I'd like to store multiple auth tokens and call the api using an auth token depending on which user "logs in" - as in the login will be remembered on the device unless the user decides to log out or until the token expires.

I followed this guide but its very simple and im having trouble reverse engineering: 

https://github.com/rokudev/samples/blob/master/roku%20pay/ChannelStore_SignupFlow.zip

0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3
joetesta
Roku Guru

Re: Samples or Help establishing api token auth via User/Pass to a backend service

Your post didn't mention anything about Rokupay but the app you're working from is Rokupay?