Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Uzair_Abdullah
Streaming Star

New to roku developers platform, can't understand the code at all, after a month of study

Jump to solution

Hello, I am new to Roku development. I took the course on youtube, saw the repository on GitHub, ran the code, and made some minor tweaks (like changing the rest API URL). But despite being on it for a month, when I am asked to do something new in it, I am totally blank! I don't know my way around the code and can't seem to get hold of the basics. The docs are not much help as there is a lot of theoretical discussion in there with little or no code snippets with specific use cases. 
Can anyone tell me the basics that I need to know so that I don't get lost when I come to work on it?
Recently I was working on an app where I am supposed to display the data from the registry to a rowlist. I implemented it but it was only showing the registry value in the console, not in the rowlist. Turns out there was something to do with a field, but the docs don't provide enough info. 
Please help, I am completely lost!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TwitchBronBron
Streaming Star

Re: New to roku developers platform, can't understand the code at all, after a month of study

Jump to solution

I agree, there aren't many resources for this type of learning. Something like step-by-step interactive tutorials would be an incredible learning tool, but they just don't exist. 

Not sure if it helps, but here's a small sample project that loads posts from reddit and displays them in a vertical list. Perhaps that can give you some insights into how to write your app?

https://github.com/rokucommunity/sample-projects/tree/master/standard-with-task