Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joe-flacco
Visitor

Re: Eclipse plugin for Brightscript Beta

Wow... is all I can say. I haven't actually dove into programming on the Roku yet. However I read the documentation, took a peak at the sample apps, and side loaded the examples on my Roku.

Programming for the Roku is done in a language called BrightScript scarily reminds me of qbasic back in the DOS era. The only editor I see for BrightScript is an Eclipse plugin... and I dislike Eclipse. So I'll probably be hacking together something for myself using using C# and ScintillaNET or a plugin for FlashDevelop since I use the IDE a ton. We'll see how the BrightScript language grows on me.

I know when I started programming Boxee apps I strongly disliked Python however its grown into more of a love/hate relationship. At leaste Python is a full fledged language and you can use external libraries or search for others who were trying to do the same thing. I'm afraid the resources aren't going to be as large for BrightScript.
0 Kudos
gonzotek
Visitor

Re: Eclipse plugin for Brightscript Beta

"joe-flacco" wrote:
Programming for the Roku is done in a language called BrightScript scarily reminds me of qbasic back in the DOS era. The only editor I see for BrightScript is an Eclipse plugin... and I dislike Eclipse. So I'll probably be hacking together something for myself using using C# and ScintillaNET or a plugin for FlashDevelop since I use the IDE a ton. We'll see how the BrightScript language grows on me.
There are some other options:
http://dylan.doxey.org/article/64/roku- ... ing-in-vim
http://old.nabble.com/Review-Request%3A ... 36217.html
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=36912&p=240108
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=33897&p=216174&hilit=jedit#p216165