Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BinaryMadman
Visitor

Dynamic category list for SimplePoster SDK example

I want to create a category list that is populated based on the folder names on an external drive. I'm still new to BrightScript so even though this should be easy i'm having a bit of trouble understanding how to do this. Am i waaay off based on the code shown below?

Function getCategoryList() As Object
list = m.filesystem.getdirectorylisting("ext1:/")

cl = createobject("roArray",list.count(),true)

for each folder in list
cl.push(folder)
end for

categoryList = cl

return categoryList
End Function

With those lines of code the program does not even run but does not produce a compile error when loading it to the Roku.
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
renojim
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Dynamic category list for SimplePoster SDK example

Without commenting on any specifics of your code, I would offer the following advice: print is your best friend when you're trying to figure out what's going on. For example, you say the code doesn't even run. What is that based on? I'd add some prints, like:
print list, print folder, etc.

-JT
Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee.
0 Kudos
BinaryMadman
Visitor

Thanks for the tip. I was trying to do it blinded without using Print calls. :oops: Turns out i didn't set up the roFileSystem to have a message port. It is now showing categories based on the names of folders on the external drive.
0 Kudos
TheEndless
Channel Surfer

"BinaryMadman" wrote: