Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pmd333
Visitor

Brightscript logging and error handling

hi,

I am new to channel development and would like to make a simple arithmetic app. I would like to put in logging and error handling into my bs in the beginning, but I'm not experienced in doing that because I have usually relied on a debugger for that instead. It would be nice to also eventually turn the logging into something that could be used for tracing user problems and logging some statistics on user behavior to a server. So I'm tempted to do something strange like rely on the eval/run commands, but I'm trying to resist. I'm hoping someone more experienced can provide some tips.

Thank you,
pmd
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
dev42
Visitor

Re: Brightscript logging and error handling

"pmd333" wrote:
So I'm tempted to do something strange like rely on the eval/run commands

I'll parrot what the guru's around these parts have said, "don't use eval/run". That said, if you're looking to make a data driven app that pulls "lessons" / "levels" from the 'net, I'm sure it can be done!

I'm also sure you can do logging and save it to the 'net.... but unfortunately, I don't know how ( yet ) and I'm not well versed in the privacy concerns. You can fetch an ID/model # from the unit, but what if your demographic included families with more than one student? or twins?!
0 Kudos
pmd333
Visitor

It looks like someone posted a library to help get started called librokudev on github. I will start there.
0 Kudos
pmd333
Visitor

Also someone posted brstest on github. Maybe I can use that to help with testing and cut down on the need for logging and error handling.
0 Kudos
sna
Visitor

Hi,