Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
btpoole
Channel Surfer

Am I wrong using roAppManager?

Attempting to migrate a channel from roImageCanvas to use screens. I have limited experience with screens so I began looking into examples I have found. I came across one one that creates a Lunch menu using roAppManager. My question is how can you move the images and text around on the screen. I see no options to change either location on the screen. Both are set in an array and displayed on a rolistscreen. The text for "Title" comes up on the left and an image associated with the title is on the right. Any way to modify these locations with roappmanager?
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
EnTerr
Roku Guru

Re: Am I wrong using roAppManager?

So you are using roListScreen. roAppManager is just for theming/coloring - it's just there to add salt&pepper.

You can't change the composition of the "ro-" screens. The progression i think goes:

1. You start by using roListScreen, roPosterScreen, roGridScreen etc when you can

2. You move to roImageCanvas when unhappy with the layout of preset screen from above, now you can move things around but have to write your own interactions (more work)

3. You move to roScreen when (if ever) unhappy with the animation performance of roImageCanvas - now you have to "manually" re-paint everything every frame (even more work)

4. You move to Roku Scene Graph, when feeling suicidal and casual self-mutilation like cigarette-burns and wrist-cutting don't um, cut it anymore
0 Kudos
btpoole
Channel Surfer

Thanks EnTerr for the very insightful information. I guess I have pass the the first 3 and forced to try 4 or may leave the channel on roImageCanvas. Really liked how the rolistscreen looked, but must have the ability to move things around.