Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
davidperez
Binge Watcher

Roku 4K Streaming Stick will not control AOC TV

I've been using a Roku Express for THREE YEARS.  It worked.  It controlled the AOC TV that's sitting right in front of me.  Because of problems with Roku and Youtube TV we're having to REPLACE the Express units with 4F Streaming sticks (all this is just for background - it's not my first rodeo).

Did Streaming Stick in Family room.  Works.  Controls the TV.

Replaced the Express with the Streaming stick in my Office.  Also WORKS.  Remote can talk to the Roku, can get to home page, can connect to network.  But I CANNOT get it to control the TV.  It's a AOC that's been in use WITH A ROKU EXPRESS for the last couple years.  Worked fine.

I CAN GET INTO THE TV SETUP.  It KNOWS it's an AOC.  Goes through the first 3 and the music never stops.  Tell it to continue and it ONLY goes through 2 more codes then tells me it can't control the TV.

If a $20 Express can do it I PRESUME a $50 4K Streaming Stick should be able to.  HOW do I force this "thing" to control the TV?

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
Tivoburkee
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Roku 4K Streaming Stick will not control AOC TV

The original Roku remote that comes with an Express is an IR remote, meaning no TV buttons. You must have remote bought after the express, if the express isn't working, take its remote and pair it to the Roku Stick, if the remote controls the AOL tv, it will still control it paired to a different Roku. 

Edmund
Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee.
davidperez
Binge Watcher